The Quay

A drizzly, dull and damp day here today, but fortunately I was inside most of the day. This morning I went to my Archaeology U3A group meeting at Blakeney, so arrived early so I could walk down to the quay to take a blip of the boats and the wonderful Blakeney Hotel. The talk was on The Archaeology of Tattooing, which I was a bit doubtful about before the talk, but it was actually very interesting. It was also a bit gruesome in places, too gruesome for a blip! It seems that tattooing has been with us for a very long time, and in some cultures was only for use by women and the higher status you were, the more tattoos you had. I sat near a retired doctor who was telling me how many more people have tattoos these days including lots of women, unlike when he first started out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.