Plus ça change...

By SooB

Foraging

Gloomy weather this morning finally gave way to a brighter afternoon, so we headed out for a foraging walk. I was after some sloes, with which the hedgerows are heavily laden. In Scotland I was told to wait until after the first frost before picking them, but that could be some time off here and I'd spotted from a reconnaissance mission that some were shrivelling up already.

So, we picked until I had to stop to let everyone have a go at pulling a very painful thorn out from under my thumbnail. Mr B decided that was time to call it a day, so we had a walk. Then off to double-check there were no blackberries still left (there weren't - long dried up) and Katherine persuaded me that picking rosehips was a good idea (I suppose I can make some syrup).

Not sure what the green apple-like things are. I suspect they are some very small type of quince. Must ask someone local. Anyway, they are rock hard and probably not ready to pick yet so I have some time.

Later, with Doctor Who sadly not ready to watch, we watched a nature show and then an early night for the kids, after last night's late night trip to basketball.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.