Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

Opening doors.

This is my homework.

I've been playing guitar for 24 years and today I had my first ever guitar lesson.

I just felt I was in a rut. I'd got to the end of what I could do for myself and wanted to get better but had no idea how to.

So I booked a guitar lesson. Luckily for me it's a guy I know, Fish. Singer and guitarist from Brothers Reid.

He was great. Don't know who was more nervous though. Me or him?

We are both in bands in the Fat Hippy Records stable. Both been playing for a long time. I really rate him as a player, he has a great technique and unlike myself, knows the theory and the "proper" names for things. I've always gone with what sounds right to me and the rest of The Lorelei.

So, I just want to get better. Learn scales, know where I am on a fretboard and know where I can go to. I also want to learn more slide guitar and also some finger picking.. Got to unlearn a lot of things though. But not too much. I'm a messy player, I love a bit of chaos but want to mix this with improved technique and a little more clarity in my playing.

It was a very odd thing to do and only a few folk I've told kinda got why I wanted to do it after so long. Most didn't really know what to say..

Captain Tom, founder of Fat Hippy, was one who did get it.. He simply said

"Guess you want to open some doors Beefy".

Absolutely.

Thanks for looking.

B

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.