Farewell Sarah

Sarah left on the London train this afternoon, ready to start her new job at 8.15 tomorrow morning. We have fitted in so much in the past 7 weeks, but it's time for her to move on.

It's not easy to leave this beautiful place, I know. Yesterday we stood and read these lines carved on the Buchan Bridge by Glentrool:

Land of brown heath and shaggy wood,
Land of the mountain and the flood,
Land of my sires! what mortal hand
Can e'er untie the filial band,
That knits me to thy rugged strand!

(
If you want to read the whole fine romantic poem by Sir Walter Scott, it's HERE.)

Sarah seems to be inheriting my whole wardrobe, piece by piece. She wears several jumpers which I knitted before she was even born. Today she discovered this bomber jacket which D bought me as a novelty gift 30 years ago because he knew I loved the stars. The Milky Way glows across the back in the dark. Sarah says that bomber jackets are very "in" now, so it went down to London with her. Looks far better on her than it ever did on me, anyway :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.