Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Brian

On this day of Storm Brian I guess I should always look on the bright side of life.

There was the football, where Bradford lined up against the fourteen men of Charlton (that being the usual eleven plus the three officials of course.) The conditions were filthy, so I don't begrudge players' overhit and underhit passes but this made for a disjointed game.

Charlton edged the first half but City were much improved in the second. Then Charlton scored in circumstances similar to the goal Wales conceded against Ireland a couple of weeks ago, a breakaway down the right with the ball seeming to go out but not noticed by the officials. Today's was even more clear cut. Thereafter Ben Amos made a couple of inspired saves to keep Bradford out, and so City slumped to their third home defeat of the season.

Heading out into the rain I got a soaking on the walk into town to pick up some photos that I'd ordered. I'm out of the habit of getting photo prints, but I've made a late decision to go over to the Butterfly Conservation Yorkshire members day in Tadcaster tomorrow, and they encourage people to bring photos for a display and competition. I didn't really have enough time to review my year's output of butterfly photos, but I picked a few that I quite liked and made use of a well known high street retailer that allow images to be submitted online and then picked up from the shop that day. Unfortunately they neglected to mention that prints ordered this way are printed on matt paper, and when I viewed them in the shop I was really disappointed in the quality of the print and the colour. I'm now in two minds as to whether to even take them, but I'll mull over it a bit.

A soggy bus ride home later and I'm trying to rise above the day's disappointments. Now if someone can just point me in the direction of the bright side that I'm supposed to always look on...  There's always the kind comments you left on the occasion of my #2500 blip yesterday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.