The second half of life..

By twigs

A korker of a day!

For some reason I woke up really early this morning - so wide awake I knew there was no chance of me falling back to sleep! I got up, showered and was walking along the beach by 7.00am! Almost unheard of for me!

The walk was lovely - so calm, peaceful and fresh. :) A great start to the day. A times like this I really wish I was more of a morning person...

After my walk I headed to the market where I challenged myself to approach a number of stall-holders and seek their permission to take their picture. This chap, Don, has been making his Korker sandals and selling them at the market for years. I just love that he is so authentically artisan........and, according to people I know who own a pair of his sandals, his workmanship stands the test of time wonderfully!

Had a domestic afternoon which included making muesli, supermarket shopping, preparing salads for dinner guests tonight and lawn mowing - oh, and a nana-nap!! Dinner guests arrived and we had a lovely evening of chatting and sharing, something which I've missed a bit this year. After they left I came to do tonight's blip..........

.....sitting here in my little office after dark and deep in blip thoughts you can imagine my heart-thumping alarm when someone knocked on the window!! I knew these friends were in town visiting from the UK, but I certainly never expected them to drop in on me at 10.30pm! After much swearing and cursing.......then hugging!......we shared a few wines and had a great catch up. It's now after 1.00pm and they've not long left.........but we will be catching up for a coffee sometime this week I hope.

A true korker of a day indeed :)

Now it's time for sleep..........g'night :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.