Life through the lens...

By ValC

Comfort food.

We got off lightly. Storm Brian only brought a few more leaves down.
However my thoughts are with those in Calderdale who have been flooded yet again.

Spent most of the day clearing out a cupboard where we store glasses, plates, dishes etc. which are only used for parties, Christmas etc.
Many belonged to my mother.
Took ages to wash them all, as most are not dishwasher proof.

Then baked this ginger cake. " Josie's Moggy".
Recipe from a friend of a friend, hence the name. A Yorkshire name by the way.
I wonder, if like me, you have several recipes named after the people who gave them to you.

We have just decided to light the fire.
More comfort food for our evening meal.
Meat and potato pie, with buttered cabbage.
Along with a glass or two of red wine.
I do enjoy cosy winter nights in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.