Bloodletting

I had a bad feeling about biking today. Maybe it was the angry drivers I've encountered lately, maybe it was just thinking that riding every day brings the law of averages into play on riding safely. Whatever it was, I drew blood. Turns out it was just my own bad fortune, that and the high east winds that blew me off balance as I waited, still clipped in, onto the shoulder of Highway 18. The real damage came to my bruised ego as strings of cars heading east and west motored by a nearly 60 year old man suddenly rolling on the road's shoulder like a wounded banshee. Jesus, I can just imagine what people must have been thinking to see some dude just suddenly drop like a sack of wheat and writhe on the asphalt. What have I become? But a bad feeling for the day? I'll take it if one bloody knee is the worst I'll get.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.