whiskers

Five years ago, we had a "pet" squirrel that I named Nutkin who came to the back deck begging for peanuts, which she eventually learned to take out of my hand. I enjoyed the relationship, and our dog at the time (a big pit bull named Gracie) didn't seem to mind. 
Then Nutkin had a batch of babies that she trained to come to our back deck. Then it got harder to clean up the back deck when summer time came, and so the peanut feeding became less frequent. Then we got a new dog (Laney) who at first put up with the squirrels, but now goes ballistic at the sight of them. So the feedings came to an end. And my fondness of squirrels faded.
But today I caught myself staring at this little one in our backyard pine tree, and suddenly the name Whiskers sprung to mind. Maybe I will buy some peanuts.
In extras is a photo of a Mountain Chickadee in the same tree. I just love the stripes on their heads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.