Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Aperture

Mrs H invited someone she used to work with around this afternoon - she had seen some of my photos on Facebook that Mrs H had posted and wanted to learn how to achieve similar results.  She had bought an SLR a few years back, but has been shooting in auto from day 1.

I realised after about half an hour that I was talking about far too many things and so put on my teacher hat on, whittling things down to a couple of major points.  

This image was a test shot to illustrate the effect of a wide aperture on separating a portrait subject from its background.  Mrs H hates being the subject of a photo, so focus on the bokeh created by some wood/LED home decoration thing that has finally in my eyes justified the expenditure :)  

Then it was off to an ice hockey game.....wow!!!!  I got tickets right behind the away bench and I have never experienced anything like it!  The emotions from the flow of the game, the incidents, and certainly the fouls/fights, sucked us in and it was a cracking night out.  I think sitting there again is a given.

Jnr Snr found a documentary called Ice Guardians on Netflix on returning; it's all about the role of fighting in ice hockey and it's turning out to be an extremely insightful viewing.

(extra is a crappy filtered iPhone shot - a bit of randomness during the 2nd/3rd period break - however, it's the first Hollow whole-family shot since 2006!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.