The Leaving

The northern tip of Malta, Comino in the middle and the Southern part of Gozo as I was flying out of Malta yesterday.
I had a terrific week, felt like I'd never left the place, where I revisited some old haunts and met old friends.
Grace and Rose were young ladies, around 17/18, when I last saw them in 1974. An old man in Marsaxlokk recognised me walking down the road, we had sailed together at the RAF Malta sailing club. I remembered him also when he told me his name was John Spiteri. Visited an friend who has a yacht at Ta'xbiex and sails around the Med going to see friends in Tunisia. Also met some ex-RAF blokes and we attended the airshow together.
It's lovely to be home with Marlane but I've got some wonderful memories of Malta which I had not been to since I left 38 years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.