Black Shag

This is New Zealands largest shag and they are very common around coastal and inland waters.

This one was just sitting at the end of a little promontory where we go to catch a glimpse of the cygnets or the scaup ducks. I didn't like to disturb him so kept my distance and used the camera as binoculars to see the detail.

This shag is distinctive with the pale blue eyes and the yellow colouring under the chin  ( or where a chin would be if it had one). I love the pattern of the feathers on its back.

Although they are common around the estuary and coastal areas, this is the first time I have seen a shag at the Sanctuary Ponds. It was not fishing or even drying its wings - it was just sitting there. I got bored first so left him to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.