My alternative diary

By chrisphoto

Tin whistle

In 2001 a friend and I attended Merlefest in North Carolina. It’s an annual event, named after the late Merle Watson, son of folk stalwart Doc Watson, has become a centre of traditional, bluegrass, folk, gospel, blues, Cajun, old-time, country, dance, jazz and Celtic music.


There was a fantastic line-up that included Doc Watson, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Ricky Skaggs, Nickel Creek, Stacey Earle, Béla Fleck, Jim Lauderdale, the Del McCoury Band, Tift Merritt, Roy Bookbinder, David Grisman Quintet, Donna the Buffalo, Beth Nielsen Chapman and Chris Hillman headed up by Dolly Parton. Doc and Dolly had never performed before and there is an informal video of them backstage, practising “Last thing on my mind” prior to their main stage appearance.


Four days of being immersed in music, highlighted the fact I didn’t play an instrument, so I was tempted to buy a tin whistle in an attempt to rectify this – I failed! But I’ve still hung onto it and both granddaughters enjoy playing it when they are here. So I’m using the tin whistle as my blip for today’s Mono Monday challenge (MUSIC).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.