Do not cross

In the early hours I was wheeled to a free room in Urology where everyone started panicking that I may have Ebola and instituted instructions for 'barrier nursing' for anyone entering the room. Face masks, aprons, curtains and gloves, and lots of shouting from the doorway with tentative looks in my direction. I think I'm in quarantine.

The diversity of staff in the NHS is remarkable. I have been treated by nurses and doctors from Guyana, the Philippines, Spain, India, Eastern Europe and the UK. The culture of this organisation truly would be damaged if it was harder to recruit foreign workers or if workers felt less welcome.

It must be an accepted practice among medical workers to prefer to assess symptoms and case history as a snapshot of the current moment rather than rely on a growing body of notes. I've explained to 10+ people where I've been and how I've felt but I don't think it's transmitted. One nurse asked how I was feeling so I asked if she'd seen my notes. 'Well, we know you've been on holiday and now you don't feel well.' Okay, sort of.

Despite repetitions the care is diligent, kind and excellent and I was compelled to tell that to today's infectious diseases doctor who updated me on some results: inconclusive, malaria not ruled out, platelets below the normal range, low white blood cell count, some rash reminiscent of dengue fever. At the same time my colleague Ivan has been diagnosed with malaria in South Sudan, has dosed up on something but has to fend for himself almost completely. The differences in healthcare between the two countries couldn't be more stark. If I turn out to have malaria, given my past travel I've probably done well to survive this long without it.

When the TV stopped thinking my name was Mrs Han I made use of its free features: radio, morning TV and phone calls of 90 seconds duration before frantic beeping and being cut off. For years I've wanted to appreciate Radio 4, but it's taken until today's forced relaxation to devote the time. When well-spoken people testily debate topical issues, it's amusing. Two men disagreed with each other but it remained angrily courteous. I was left wondering how an argument can be won or a point made strongly enough without swearing. Perhaps I need to concentrate on how to be less coarse.

Amy and Elizabeth visited in face masks; Amy after taking my keys and rootling through things in my flat to bring some essentials. Such as pants, a toothbrush and moisturiser, as I'm not letting quarantine be an excuse for becoming pasty too soon. I received satsumas and chocolate pretzels, to supplement the portion sizes and daily 800-calorie needs of most Urology patients, who are significantly older and less greedy than me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.