Music Through the Ages

The theme for today's Mono Monday hosted by JDO is Music.

I guess for people of my generation our first introduction to music was through the radio.  I remember Music While You Work, started in the 1940s to boost the morale of factory workers, and its companion, Workers Playtime.  Then on Sundays we had Two-Way Family Favourites whilst having lunch followed by the Billy Cotton Band Show and later in the day Sing Something Simple. All these programmes being on the BBC Light station.

As I grew older my tastes changed and I would listen to Radio Luxembourg prior to the onset of the pirate radio stations such as Caroline and Radio 270 broadcasting off the Scarborough coast. By the time Radio One came along I was working in London and remember being woken up by Tony Blackburn, not in person I hasten to add, he was at work already!  

Nowadays I don't tend to listen to music on the radio much, mainly 6 Music when I do, I have a large collection of Classical, Jazz and Blues, and Pop/Rock music, uploaded to Google Music, which I play through the magic of bluetooth, and my vinyl collection dating back to 1965.

This picture is the station dial from a Bush transistor radio (see extra), not original more retro, but fairly old and tuned by turning the dial.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.