Desperately seeking

By clickychick

New Squirrel

A visit back to the holiday lodge with a pint of milk for the incoming visitors. Then what? Plenty to do but nothing exciting making me keen to move. The sun came out at lunchtime and I went out to get a few shots for a long-term project. By, then, of course, the sun had hidden itself.

Back home in the gloom, The Man saw a new squirrel in the garden! Not Squirrel Nutkin, for sure, this one had the longest tail I have ever seen on a red squirrel. I have clever followers who are so well educated and have excellent reading skills, one of them knew what happened to Squirrel Nutkin! Not me, but I do now!

Now I've done loads of shots through the window and strive for something better. I picked up my camera and quietly made my way round to the front of the house. Squirrels are creatures of habit and, having taken away one hazelnut, they come back for another, and another. I knew it would be back but also felt I may scare it away. I didn't care if I didn't get a shot, I wanted to try for an outdoor one and I knew The Man already had some shots safe in his camera by this time.

I sat on the steps. Click...click....click. It took its nut away.
I sat on a garden chair a few feet nearer. Click...click....click. It took its nut away.
I moved the chair a few feet nearer. Click...click....click. It took its nut away.
I bravely moved my chair to get an even better view. Click...click....click. It started running towards me! Help! I daren't breathe!

It jumped up onto a bird bath only 3 metres in front of me and drank. It occassionaly looked up but returned to the water. Oh wow! I was excited last week by the "tame" squirrels in Scotland that have become used to people feeding them but it was a real thrill to be so close to one in my own garden.

I was unaware that The Man was still shooting from the house, over my shoulder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.