Asparagus Poacher

Showed you the flowers, showed you the seeds, now here are the spears. As soon as it rains, they shoot up, and we'll be having the few I picked this morning, fried in butter with eggs, on toast, in a minute...

Notice the word "few" - someone gets to our asparagus before I do; heck it's irritating to see the broken off stumps, especially as I have to pick them before they're really long enough, just so I get some... Our land was fairly abandoned for a long while and the walls are broken down in places, and it is known to be a good place for asparagus, so I guess folk just got used to coming in and picking it. We're hoping it stops when we actually live there...

Had the Padre and the birthday boy for lunch to use up some of the leftovers from last night. Other than that, preparing for the visit of our daughter and her two kids - we are SO excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.