Plus ça change...

By SooB

A touch of stardust

Busy Wednesday was far from ordinary today. Conor's football training was cancelled so that they could watch a travelling training session by Toulouse FC. These guys (in purple) are really really famous, and if I had any interest in football I would be able to tell you all their names. But I can't. I only knew which ones were the most famous because of the increase in volume of cheering from the small and medium-sized boys around me who live for this kind of thing.

Conor was, truth be told, a little underwhelmed when he finally understood that it was a training session and not a match and so that made it easier when I had to drag him away to get changed for basketball. Still, he got a flag and a photo of all the players and has accepted that it's ok to support one team in France, another in England, another in Scotland and still have space in his heart for Barca. I think that means he's chosen Toulouse in France - I've told him we'll try and go to a match, though I haven't the faintest clue how to go about arranging that.

Actually, it says a lot about sport in these parts that the training session took place at the rugby stadium which is, of course, the best stadium and pitch in the town.

After basketball there was an odd series of dropping off my own children, picking up other people's children and, finally, ending up with the right number of children at home (and both of them mine) and all other children delivered to the right houses. Complicated this Wednesday thing, especially when it keeps changing. Another new routine has been established for next week, I think.

And so, a late pizza dinner and to bed - far too late for the kids. I spotted a mouse in Conor's room this afternoon (playing in his box of cars - how lovely) and Katherine was complaining of lots of 'rustling' in her room. Sigh. We will have to move into action on project rodent-rid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.