It's in the detail

I love my macro lens. At 40mm, its normal focal length, it allows me a broad view of things, hinting at the details which lie below the surface. If I catch sight of something interesting, I can walk towards it, engage macro and snap away. What I see now, through the miracles of technology, is a world invisible to the casual observer. It is not that the lens lies, enhances or mis-represents what I see (although lightroom et al can do this!), It's more like the lens allows me to distinguish the extraneous from the significant. At times I would love to have the same ability as an individual. So often I view people though a broad lens, offer them time less than that which they need and in so doing I miss the significance that they bring, their potential to add value to my life. Wouldn't it be great having a personal macro lens?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.