diet of worms

After another very busy day at work, D suggested that we go on a wee walk before dark. We visited the wormery on our way - this is where all our veg peelings and skins get turned into compost and plant food. D lifted up the top layer to show me how many worms there are - a bit of a population explosion due to the mild weather, I think. I remember that when we first got the wormery ( a birthday present from me to D), we sent off for 1kg of worms from Wiggly Wigglers and they arrived through the post!

For some reason, the thought of worms has put a song into my head (an ear worm haha). This is a delightful little ditty which we used to sing around the campfire at Guide camp: 

Nobody likes me, everybody hates me,
Think I'll go and eat worms.
Long thin slimy ones, short fat hairy ones,
Gooey gooey gooey gooey worms.


Bite off the heads, suck out the juice, throw the skins away,
Nobody knows how I survive
On a million worms a day!


Being 10 years old, being away at camp for two whole weeks, eating dinner round a huge fire and singing silly songs...maybe some of the happiest days of my entire life :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.