Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

30 Plus Years of Technology

I was up in the loft today.  I've had a project this summer trying to organise the storage up there.  Probably a good idea as I'd got to a point where there was only enough space to stand up adjacent to the loft hatch.  The rest of the space was taken up with rubbi stored items.

I have plenty of technology still in the loft, including Hi-Fi separates (Hi-Fi seems to be something of a redundant term these days), old computers and monitors and a large selection of 1970s record albums.  There is also the must have Dolby 5:1 speaker system, various amps and other speakers.  I doubt they will ever be used again so I'm going to try and move them on when I have time.

It was seeing a photo from the Mono Monday Challenge of a record player that got me thinking how much change we've seen in audio technology in the last 40 years.  We used to get about 40 minutes (maybe 10 songs) of music on both sides of a 12 inch vinyl record.  Now with streaming technology you can carry 40 million songs around in a device that fits in the palm of your hand.  We've accepted this without question, yet I wonder what I would have thought if someone had told me this would be possible within four decades when I proudly bought my first LP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.