HOLY VALE, ST MARY'S, SCILLY

Surely I must have lost some weight today. First to Lower Moors, where we had much better views than yesterday of the Dusky Warbler as he chacked away in the trees. Then on to Higher Moors for the (possible) Wilson’s Snipe. Saw it. No idea whether it is or not.  Along to Porth Hellick and saw the Water Pipit, along with a Little Egret, Green Sandpipers and a Sanderling.

Then we went back to the road and across to the path through Holy Vale. This photo was taken from one of the little plank bridges. A muddy walk but well worth the slipping and sliding. From there we meandered along footpaths and looked for birds among the amazing tropical plants in Carreg Dhu Garden. We doubled back up to Parting Carn farm for fresh eggs and just as I thought we were on the home stretch, someone turned off towards Porthloo. It was only the hope of further calories burnt that made me follow.

I left G studying Oystercatchers, looking for the longipes*, and made my way home along Thomas Porth, Porthmellon Beach and Town Beach.  G caught me up when I collapsed paused to rest on a bench. It was only 6.1 miles walked in total but it felt twice as long. I blame the mud.


The extras are Dick’s Carn, or the Loaded Camel, from Katies (sic) Pride at Porth Hellick. And a boulder and stone, and yes, I turned the stone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.