March of the Opilones

It's always good to know a harvestman is not a spider when you greet one on your windowsill and another clambering into bed with you. I've thrown three four FIVE off the balcony, fairly certain they'll arrive safely on the ground floor and hopeful it'll take them five days to make it back upstairs, perhaps exploring dad's bedroom first!

It's been a super day of a trip into Kerimäki for kakku and kahvi and a few more supplies from the supermarket. We stopped beforehand at the boatsheds for a quick blast of air, only to be welcomed by these 700-1000 geese flying and calling overhead. 

Afterwards, I went for a walk and the moment I set foot outside the door, a flock of waxwings were on the rowan berries to meet me. I wonder if they'll make it to the UK this year.

I had an explore around to an old boatshed and felt quite entranced by the straight white lines of the silver birch trees.

We've cooked a fine dinner, enjoyed a good old chat and dad made a great fire.

Now to go to sleep without opening my mouth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.