Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Got Wood Ducks!

My birding guru nearly lost her mind when I told her there was a farm pond near us with about 30 wood ducks on it, at least half of them males. Apparently you don't get to see a bunch of male wood ducks together in one place except very rarely during migration. These guys and gals have been on the pond for at least three weeks now. We amble past it every time we go on a walk, and I don't have a camera with me - other than my iPhone. The pond is well down the hill from the road, so it definitely requires a big zoom lens to get any sort of half decent shot. So - after noting her reaction to their presence - I got in my car this afternoon and drove back up there with the camera hoping to catch a shot of them. They seem to be aware of human presence even at this great distance because as soon as I got up to the fence they started padding quickly from the right side of the pond across to the part that isn't visible from the road. So what I got was a photo of the parade. As you can see - even fairly heavily cropped it's impossible to get anything resembling a close-up. Still. Wood ducks! Lots of them! It not being my property, I didn't want to climb over the fence and risk scaring them off the pond completely. The lady who owns the place is thoroughly enjoy their presence!

Click here to give free mammograms!

Out to dinner with the Ladies tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.