Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Roisin

It was great to meet Roisin today.

She’s doing a Masters in Psychology, looking at the types of social support available (or not) to people who have minority identities within the LGBTQ+ community - particularly people who identify as bisexual, pansexual or asexual - and how to change ongoing assumptions about LGBTQ+ people and mental health.

We had a really good conversation about all of the above; language and identity, the responses of mainstream mental health services to minority communities, useful contacts, sources of information, and how times have changed but still need to change further. I could’ve waffled on for ages but I’m not sure I actually gave any proper, concrete, answers to any of Roisin’s questions!

This is all right up my street, as I’ve recently been pondering trying to make a little film about how lesbian identity has changed over the last 50 years and whether or not we’re now living in a post-lesbian world...! Is that too esoteric?! I’m currently looking for potential interviewees and Roisin is definitely now on my list! (If anyone else would like to volunteer, you know where to find me!)


Today I’ve mostly been listening to Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KNsBCf34fQ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.