Offcumden Cal

By Cal

Poetry

The world was shrouded in mist today, no hills to be seen. As I was dashing to work, cutting it fine as usual, I spotted this spider web - huge and seemingly suspended in mid-air. The camera struggled to focus on it, and then I remembered MANUAL focus!!! However by this stage a crowd of school kids had gathered to see what the strange lady was taking photos of, so late, and a bit embarrassed I settled for this one. I spent the day looking longingly at the hills from the classroom window. There was a fantastic mist inversion round about 11am, it was so frustrating to be inside today. Anyway, today, being National Poetry Day, I scattered a few post-it poems around the place, and got the kids to read me some poems in their reading sesssions.
Here is one I really like, not mist but something quite like it.

Fog
The fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.

Carl Sandburg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.