Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Exorcism

I met up with D at Stanage and after the first route we headed for Flying Buttress.  I was my turn to lead, but she'd wanted to do the route for a few years so I let her...  to be honest I didn't fancy leading anything today anyway.  She got as far as I did a year ago (see extra) and was stuck.... until she spied her partner making his way up from the car park, who was then able to talk her through it and she completed the route.  Then I followed her up and was pleased to find that I had no difficulty at all in making the move that had stopped me a year ago, although of course things are easier when seconding than leading, but I'll definitely be leading it next time I'm there.

With me not wanting to lead, D's partner asked me what I'd like to second, and without a moment's hesitation I replied "Inverted V".....  It was at the bottom of that route that S had a massive go at me in front of half the crag one sunny Sunday, 3rd July 2016, not that I can remember the date or anything lol, so I never got to climb it then.  So to climb it today was a kind of exorcism.... also very exhausting, difficult and thuggish, although I probably didn't jam as much as I should have done.  I still lost some skin though :-)

The main photo is of D's partner leading Inverted V.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.