witchpics

By witchcreations

My Green Cat...

So tonight it was the Monster Mash!  

The party of the season held at the school (17:30 - 18:30)... Anyone who is anyone from nursery was due to attend... Featuring: music, dancing  and fine dining in the form of Haribo, Magic stars and Fruit shoots....

The excitement and tension has been building all week... Finally the 'Green Cat' costume was donned along with face paint  (I'm not a super mum, I don't bake, I don't join committees, I rarely clean the house, I don't provide elaborate parties or gifts,  but the one thing I can do is sew a few bits of material together) 

So we get to the venue, as it opens... ( we're both punctual and never known to be fashionably late)  All is going well whilst the place is empty... investigating the decorations, scoffing sugar,  peering at people in masks to establish if they are friend or foe... But then the music starts... my Green Cat declares it's tooo loud !!! and  proceeds to sit in the cloakroom for most of the party...  I fluctuate between trying to entice her out  and trying to hold myself back from dancing the full Thriller routine in front of the rest of the kids and parents... (I really don't get out anymore) 

Finally Little un and her equally reticent friend begin a game of chasing each other around the hall about 10 minutes before the end of the  evening... The long planned costume has been abandoned (except I'm wearing the ears now)  they're having a blast and then suddenly it's all over... 

Home time and the prospect of bed causes tears and tantrums about 20 yards from our door,  but finally after being wrestled inside,  the realisation that comfy PJs, a biscuit, a book, and a cuddle are actually really nice ... 

Is it my influence or is it a universal experience of parties, that she's followed a predictable pattern.

First the hype, and planning the outfit, followed by anticlimax, then acceptance and a second wind resulting in having a great time, followed by the inevitable crashing of energy and cold walk home.  Finishing with a warm drink, a book and the luxurious feeling of a cosy duvet and a snuggle. 

It might not have been a perfect party, but I feel she's being prepared for later life...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.