The longest blip

Thinking of the stars theme for national poetry day, I went over to Brookwood Military Cemetery this morning. It had been a poor start to the day and I find this such a humbling, peaceful place. I wanted to photograph the flag against the sun and this might have been my blip but I liked the crosses too with the Star of David to the fore. Back in the blipden I thought I'd like to try melding the images and spent an enjoyable hour Skyping with son John as we experimented with layers, blending and masking. This is a pretty basic blend (though it still took me a while). This is John's version. The US flag was appropriate for the stars theme but, frankly, it's the only one there, though there are many nationalities in the cemetery.

Next, the poem. Brookwood always sets me thinking of the sacrifices during the Normandy invasion. I've blipped it before (last June 6). But I was thinking also of the Nativity, the Bethlehem star, death and rebirth, and the diversity of life across the cosmos, so tried to layer some words and thoughts in a poem to mirror the picture. I hope you like it. Oh and thanks to Blipcentral for the new groups. Nice to have one for transport.

Tabula Rasa

Stars bleach in the wash of dawn,
Sand grains churn in a waxing tide,
A universe reborn this day,
Unveiled, a passion play.
One star, its Venus-light
Embossed bright against the rest,
Bolder, guiding brave men,
Furrows cutting blood-red foam,
Where some will fall
For country, mothers, friends,
Yet others onwards,
Pressed against the bedding dunes,
All howling now and torn,
Dismembered memories, lowing,
Scattered, barb-hooked tinsel,
Each their own, a pulsar soul,
One life, one star, one cross.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.