Back Blip - Ski Portillo

Or in our case, Lunch Portillo.

Ski season ended early this year due to a bad snow year.  In any case, amazing to drive up to the Argentenian border and so close to Santiago. Not everyone had their passports, so we stopped at the border for a few pictures before dropping back down to Portillo for lunch which was our primary plan. So many huge heros of skiing have passed through here for training during the Northern Hemisphere's summer. There was a wall full of signed photos. I may or may not have made a splash in the lake.  There may or may not be pictures of me in my underwear undertaking the endeavor.  Haha!  How many opportunities in life are there to make a dip in a lake at 3000 meters elevation???  In the Andes???  Few, I would say... :)

I got a few glimpses Aconcagua (6960 m) from the highway in the morning. It was covered with cloud in the afternoon.  Tallest mountain outside of Asia.  Mind boggling.  I thought Mont Blanc in France was impressive... The Andes are on totally another level.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.