The Pipes of St Peter

Third Blipmeet in six days today.  What a lovely week it's been!  Today it was Berkhamsted with Chantler63 ARPS  (Yay!!!!)  and BlackTulip.  We visited the Castle (See extras), spent time in the pub, talked, walked, went in the church where I was so impressed with these organ pipes, had trouble extricating ourselves from the bookshop, allowed Kathy to but a pyjama top look a like top (!) and then found an amazing coffee shop with wonderful cake - one piece big enough to feed the three of us!

Now, that was all the straightforward bit.  it did develop into quite a complicated day when I discovered that my train wasn't on the departure board at New St Station.  CANCELLED!!!!  So I had to go on a different train, change at Milton Keynes, meet Black Tulip and find a train to Berkhamsted!  We did it!  Go us!  And we weren't too late either!

THEN, Kathy wanted to order our lunch on the app, but she failed totally.  Obviously ARPS skills do not equate to APP skills!  I appear to have better ones of those.

THEN I decided I'd better look for my tickets so I could find out what time my train home was.  NO Tickets!  Oh no!  Empty the bag!  Nothing!  Kathy!  Empty the bag!  NO tickets!   Oh no!  We need to walk to the station to get them reprinted!  Oh no!  Look in the bag again!  Empty everything all over the table again.  TICKETS!  How did that happen?

THEN, much later, arriving at the station (With tickets!).  Look at the Departure Board, all trains North cancelled!  Oh no! Not again!  Then a train to Milton Keynes crept onto the Board so Black Tulip was ok!  Get on that one with her and then see if you might be able to get home to Birmingham on some train maybe...  Oh GOSH!  Arrive at Milton Keynes, go to Platform 6, no train, go to Platform 3, no train, go back to Platform 6.  There might be a train to Edinburgh some time.  Just wait.  So  I did.  Eventually it came.  But the world was on it.  No seats all the way to Coventry and I'm relieved to say that I don't look old enough for anyone to give up their seat for me.  (Result!)

Tired now!  Thank you Kathy and Ann for a super day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.