Not a social commentary

but rather one of my yearly favorite events to work: the Halloween fest at CentroNìa, an NGO I work with. The organization offers bilingual programs to underserved immigrant families in the Washington DC area, including the management of a bilingual pre-school and elementary school.

Each year, the school offers a "Book-O-Ween" where volunteers come, dressed in costumes, to read book to the kids -- also dressed up, all of which is followed up by a parade through the neighborhood. There simply isn't anything cuter than a bunch of tiny kids all dressed up though most of them seemed rather puzzled by their make-up and unusual clothes ;)

I loved the little guy featured, almost as much as the one in the extra: the whole time I was sitting there taking pix, he tried stuffing his policeman's whistle into the tube he was holding. Never managed to do it, but persisted nevertheless (ha!).  And, while I was sitting there, a little 2-yr girl came to snuggle in my lap: she was very intrigued by the two cameras I had with me and kept pushing the buttons of the smaller one. I put it in 'review' mode to show her some of the pix and she used her tiny little finger to swipe the screen, wondering all the while why nothing happened. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.