Mono

I wouldn't touch a hot dog unless you put a condom on it! You realize that the job of a hot dog is to use parts of the animal that the Chinese can't figure out how to make into a belt?

Up before light - a day working in Glasgow with Matt. I get to the Carluke park and ride in good time, but once I get to the platform I find that the next few Glasgow trains have been cancelled.

So I drove. The M8 is moderately busy in town, but I pull into the Ingram St car park. It’s not so much a car park, more a scrap of waste ground with a smear of hard core and pitted tarmac - but only £10 a day.

Matt and I get through a lot of work. It’s not even a long day - 9 - 4 with a decent lunch break at the vegan café over the road. I finish off a report and start a sales proposal after he leaves and then it’s time to meet up with Megan.

She’s waiting for me at Mono - and the place is busy. We get a coffee table with comfy chairs and settle in. She’s in fine fettle and we have a lovely time. Megan’s harissa chickpeas are tasty and my seitan burger is a meatless triumph. The chips are wonderful too.

Megan has had a busy day and still has a lab to write up. It sounds like she’s too tired to do it tonight and tomorrow she’ll be helping with an under 14 swimming competition in Edinburgh, so it’ll be Sunday before she gets to it.

A dark drive home to an empty house with an unlit stove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.