Katipo Spider

I spent the day out on Kaitorete Spit, on Banks Peninsula, with the Nature Photographic Society. Such a treat! We had great weather, had a very interesting and informative guide in Steve Attwood; couldn't have been better.

I've never seen a katipo spider before, and was intrigued to see one at last. I've always known that their bite was/is venomous, and that some of them have a distinctive stripe on their back, but I thought that the stripe was white. I've put another image of a katipo spider into Extras, with a different viewpoint. Hope you enjoy seeing it, if you've never seen one before.

Wikipedia has this to say - 
The katipo (Latrodectus katipo) is an endangered species of spider native to New Zealand. The species is venomous to humans, capable of delivering a comparatively dangerous bite. The name katipo (plural: katipo) is from the Māori katipō, meaning "night-stinger". It is a small to medium-sized spider

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.