Back to the roots!

This afternoon I went back to the South West Shropshire village where I was born and bred and lived until I was 18 years old. I was visiting my brother (blipper malcornorton) who lives close by and going to the family graves in the village.

It's always bitter sweet going back as when I was growing up I knew everyone and was related to  a large percentage of them! Now a lot of the old buildings have disappeared and new housing (mostly large and expensive) have taken their place and I know very few people which is sad.

I thought that I'd go for a walk around the hill where I spent many happy hours as a child I even did my A level homework up there! The old hill is hardly recognisable now with so many paths and trees in different places but that's what has happened to most places  now, things never stand still.

The family visit was most enjoyable though and I had a cup of tea and a lovely piece of sponge baked by J!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.