stujphoto

By stujphoto

Belhaven Sky

Today is the last day that I will be walking the dogs at 5.00pm at night as not only are the nights drawing in but we lose the hour tonight, I was particularly struck by the early evening sky. I'm not too hot on my cloudscape identification but somehow I thought they may be lenticular clouds. Having returned home and consulted my cloud app and a cloud identification book that my daughter bought me, I am pretty sure that they are Altocumulus lenticularis, especially as it was blowing a hoolie yet the clouds were quite static. It was also quite heartening to see that my app described them as winning the Weirdest-Looking-Clouds-in -the Sky awards as that was very much my first impression. 

I can't say that I have studied the cloud book my daughter gave me in much detail and it was shoved away in the bookshelf for 'future reference' but is serendipitous the my daughter and her family are arriving later tonight to stay with us for a couple of days, so I will be able to thank her for increasing my knowledge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.