Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Punch timing

A couple of weeks or so ago I filmed a kata for Kancho. Scrubbing through the video extremely slowly, I was gratified to discover a marked increase in speed of my punches compared with last time I checked - albeit that was many months ago. Then I was struggling at 0.5 seconds at best, and the goal of 0.3 seconds seemed almost unattainable.

Scrubbing through this latest video, I ranged between 0.2 and 0.25 seconds consistently. I guess I’m learning to relax properly - that being the key.

So, today, not feeling like taking anything else, I photographed my iPad screen a few times, at start and finish of the first punch in this double punch sequence (and am pleased to note that that first punch does make its way all the way out, rather than being cut short in the hurry to get to the second one), and the finish of the second - including the times visible down the bottom on the scrub bar.

I’m quite pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.