J0shua

By J0shua

Puncture

Imagine four screws drilled into your bone, two at the ankle and two at the top of your thigh. Between these two sets of screws is a titanium and carbon fibre structure to keep your leg from moving; that is twisting or bending. Probably sounds worse than it was, then again maybe not. Anyway the external fixation that was holding my leg has been removed, the screws withdrawn from my bones.

The left over evidence is slowly disappearing unless they leave a scar. If they do, my story is that I was attacked by a giant python, which latched onto me by plunging its fangs into my leg. I then wrestled it off, and it bites again in the thigh. Again, I fought it off before finally? Killing it, nope, I love snakes, no need to kill one, it fled back into the swamp from where it came. Surely that’s a better story than the truth, something to scare small children and tourists. Did I tell you the story of how protect yourself from drop bears (aka koalas gone bad) when bush-walking in Australia?

Today’s blip, the lower two pin holes which are healing well and quicker than the two in my thigh. I am looking forward to these healing over soon as I will be able to have a shower. I know I could have one now, but I’ve had too many wounds over the years to know a little patience and care prevents infections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.