Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Cambridge

To Cambridge today because there was something I wanted to buy there and to visit the Fitzwilliam Museum. There were two exhibitions we wanted to see; Codebreakers and Groundbreakers, a small exhibition relating to the work of Alan Turing and separately Michael Ventris who deciphered 'Linear B', and a larger 'Degas' exhibition featuring his paintings and sculptures. On display was his sculpture 'The Little Dancer' which is strikingly beautiful yet was derided when it was made largely because it was too realistic and didn't appear to represent what was considered 'acceptable' beauty at the time.

When we arrived at the museum there was a 'Promenade Concert' about to start in one of the galleries. It took me a while before I realised the musicians had actually started playing and weren't still tuning up but oddly (I suppose because my main love in music is Jazz improvisation) it sounded quite good. I don't think it would have suited a Classical music traditionalist though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.