Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Tom

I was reminded on our Wednesday walk that my next outing as walk leader was in just a few weeks, when I was to lead the group round the Glasgow Mural Trail. As a result I took advantage of the fine weather on Thursday to try the walk out for myself.

(Quite coincidentally, friends of mine had suggested meeting up this coming weekend to do a portion of the same walk! More pictures to follow.)

I had already photographed quite a lot of the murals already, albeit without posting them all on Blipfoto, but hadn't spotted the series of three sculptures near the Anderston footbridge of Tom Weir, Jimmy Reid and James Watt (see extra photo).

Tom Weir, pictured, was a Scottish walker, climber, author and broadcaster, best known for his long-running TV series "Weir's Way" and his famous 'bobble hat'.

Jimmy Reid was a trade union leader and powerful orator and was one of the leaders of the “work-in” at Upper Clyde Shipbuilders (UCS) in the 1970s. James Watt was an 18th century engineer and inventor, who did much to develop steam engine technology.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.