Splashin' about

It's always nice to watch the sparrows splashing about on the edge of the pool.

Sunday is pool day. Swam, read and relaxed.

Then had a nice evening walk with an Egyptian friend who arrived not long after me. He's a good friend and we had a lovely chat while walking on a specially made track. I've suggested a couple of times he use one of my guest passes and come to the pool but last night he said the reason he hadn't been is because he's been sleeping 12+ hours a night/day (Egyptians aren't known for going to bed early). It's like a curse as I'm discovering. Most of the doormen/caretakers are Egyptian and they have a reputation for sleeping all day and night. It's got to be depression. They come expecting great things here, some are conned by visa scammers, some succeed, some don't. Some stick at it a while and leave. Family is so important and they leave them behind to provide for them. But at what expense? It's sad. The good news is my friend got his civil ID so he can job hunt. I hope he gets work soon. Insha'allah

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.