The second half of life..

By twigs

How now brown cow?

Are you lost? What's a beautiful Highland beastie like yourself doing in Mohikinui?

Where?

Where, indeed! (and I thought Paturau was the back of beyond)


Left home today vaguely with the thought that I'd head up to Karamea. Have got as far as Mokihinui and think I'll save Karamea for another time. I didn't much fancy the extra 100kms round trip.

Mohikinui - population about 50 (guesstimate). No internet access, limited cell phone access and a real feel of days-gone-by, especially with the holiday baches. Surprisingly there's quite a few people around which, I gather, is because it's whitebait season. The Coasters do love their whitebaiting.

Van parked up for the night, rain falling lightly, sound of the heaving Tasman sea reaching my ears from just over the bank (in between rainfalls).

It's good to be away exploring again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.