Waif & Stray

I walked around from Taylors Mistake to Boulder Bay this afternoon and was intrigued by all the 'life' going on.

The white faced heron here seems to me to be a fledgling. He was quite happy for me to take photos of him, and was more interested in trying to clean his dirty plumage. I've never seen a white-faced heron up close like this before, to see the fluffy down underneath, and the unusual colouring. I think he was waiting for his parents to come back and feed him! I think he must have moved, because the image isn't sharp, but this is the best one of his rather ragged plumage.

I've never seen such a display of flowers  there either, all the way from Taylors to Boulder Bay. There were banks of flowers everywhere and were very pretty. I know that they're not natives and that many people dislike the colour, but they did look gorgeous. I've put one in Extras, of Rosy Morn, one of the Stone Cottages right at the far end of Boulder Bay.

And while the baby heron was waiting, and the flowers were flowering, well, the grasshoppers were grasshoppering, and quite a few of them too! At it. I was intrigued, and felt somewhat like a voyeur. I didn't know that they could fly! There's one of them in Extras too.

I did have a very interesting walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.