Gourd-Fest at Childhood's Gate

We had heavy rains on Sunday, followed by amazing winds that blew all the cobwebs from the sky and shook the leaves from the trees. I was actually going in to the office on a Monday, for a change, and so I took the opportunity to make a rare Monday morning visit to the Arboretum.

Yellow leaves lined the pathways, as I walked through the gardens in late October. The lily pond is almost done, with the last few water lilies huddled up under the chilly waters. Some of the more tender plants have already been removed. The fancy grasses have turned gold and orange. Ferdinand the Bull watched over his quiet kingdom at Childhood's Gate.

The Glass House was full of fun things to play with. (But then again, isn't it always?) And a sign right inside the door stated that so far this year, 1386 pounds of fresh veggies and herbs have been donated to the local food bank. (You rock, Childhood's Gate!)

Many of the pumpkins and gourds from the pumpkin fest have already been removed and composted, but there are still some lovely displays scattered here and there. Some of the smaller gourds, they place inside little wire or bamboo cages. "FREE the gourds!" I whisper as I walk by - renegade that I am - and then I giggle myself silly. (Yes, I do keep myself amused. Fortunately, it's not that hard!)

I admired the creativity of the display above, which sits right outside the Glass House. It was clearly conceived and executed by someone with an artistic eye: chrysanthemums and gourds, under golden corn shocks, with decorative corn at the top for garnish. So many pretty colors under a cloudy autumn sky.

The soundtrack: Eva Cassidy, Autumn Leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.