Balmashanner

Thought it was going to be wet this morning so planned to do some housework but, although grey, it was dry when I got up and I decided to do some exploring.
Mr Rat had the car so I hurried to get ready and caught the bus to Forfar to do a walk I'd thought of for some time. I started out by the loch and then climbed steadily on track and field edge to this monument which is a war memorial. I've seen it lots of times and blipped it once from down by the loch but never actually got there. The extra is on the final approach with old quarry workings across the field (the quarry provided pavements for Dundee and other places).
There are good views in all directions, though today they were limited by low cloud, and it was a good place to sit for a few minutes before a steeper descent back into the town. A cuppa in a café and then the bus back and home in time for lunch after walking about 7 miles - and all for £1.10 (the cost of the cuppa).
A fairly lazy rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.