an t-Samhain

31 October is the date of Samhainn - the ancient Gaelic festival to mark the start of the dark half of the year. Gee, but I hate that darkness.

Anyway, in Scottish Gaelic the word for November is an t-Samhain, so you can see where the name comes from. If you click on this link, you can hear the pronunciation of an t-Samhain and get an idea of the challenges facing Gaelic learners. I must be mad.

In other news, today was mostly taken up by work. If all goes to plan the thing which has been taking up a lot of my time (3 hours on Sunday) and creating a lot of pressure will be off the task list by tomorrow afternoon and life can get back to normal. Fingers crossed, please.

I did manage to create a wee escape for myself at lunchtime, but my brain couldn’t get around to finding any kind of satisfying Blip. Sometimes a Blip is just a Blip.      

Tonight is Youtube night.

Julie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.