Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Dark Bush Cricket

Kneeling in the sopping wet grass on the riverbank surrounded by nettles and mud on a dull and dreary day I smiled to myself, thinking of a recent conversation with my daughter. She told me that I was, '....getting eccentric!!!' My behaviour is obviously making a big impression on her as the justification for the remark being, that I was always leaping and jumping about in strange places, in strange poses that many would think.... 'quite odd!' Hmmm............!
Don't think I'm losing the plot yet........ (that is not a question by the way to anyone thinking of making a remark to the contrary!)

The object of my desire today - a Dark Bush Cricket, sitting on a leaf, who didn't seem to mind being blipped! He is a male , would eat plants like this nettle, also insects such as aphids and caterpillars and is flightless (ha ha an easy blip - he's going nowhere!) with his wings only being 5mm long. One amazing fact - it takes 2 years for the larvae to develop!

Jeans in the washer again tonight!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.