Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Every journey ...

Whether it's the start of a journey to Vietnam or a trip to the hairdresser, this is where we start - on the Western Ferries. Today  it was the hairdresser, one good enough to make the journey to Greenock worth while, and one that I make as a foot passenger - hence the twenty minutes in this narrow but warm and sensible cabin. Outside it's raining dismally, though the sea is calm and the wind untroubling. And the journey costs me nothing, as a pensioner with a ferry concession card. 

Many of my photos give the impression that I live in a beautiful place of mountains and sea - and I do. But this is the mundane reality of life on the Cowal Peninsula: the road trip takes two hours over mountainous country which is liable to subside onto said road if it rains too much. At least this ferry service only stops running in extreme weather - unlike the Argyll Ferries vessels which go off at the puff of a zephyr.

Just to remind myself, and anyone else, that it is a lovely place, my extra photo comes from dusk, when the sky cleared and we had a late walk along the bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.