Context

"and then I realised, like I was shot, like I was shot with a diamond"

I feel I've known and used this phrase most of my life - but not as one might think from Kurtz's iconic speech in Apocolypse Now - but rather from a song of my youth, the Redskins "Take no Heroes" - a stolen line to express the impact of those sudden known moments of realisation, of loss, of love, of truth. The moments that shape us.

Today started with such sad news, the inevitable death of a friend's young husband - he heroically fought and hung on to be able to hold his soon to be born daughter, but so sadly went just a short while too soon - I never met him but somehow feel his loss keenly.

The day was glorious and having lost lots of it to non productive computer type drudgery I felt I had to get out - so I decided on a drive to a favourite place - and was rewarded with this!
I managed to wander with pooch along the really rather good path that suddenly felt really rather wild. Each careful step made me grin - I'm calling it physio for the soul.
Wrapped up warm with a happy pooch led at my feet I sat a goodly while on a rock in the low sun and counted our blessings. It was hard not to.

*back blipped yesterday's squirrel, normally I'd give him some glory, but this simply had to be shared today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.