Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Kiwi Killers

Posting this on 2nd November 2017 after seeing a post on Facebook from yesterday about the schools rugby team training. The text below is what I wrote on Facebook:

Exactly 50 year ago on 1st November 1967, the All Hallows Rugby Team were taken to Bristol to see the All Blacks play South of England in their undefeated tour.



The Kiwi's scrum half was the legendary Sid Going, which forced me to support them! Our rugby coach, John Quinn was very nearly a professional, I think for Bath and an England prospect but some health issue stopped this. Mr Quinn and his wife were very kind to me and at least on one half-term took me "in" - I was one of the overseas boys who back then could only return home once or if lucky twice a year. He also diagnosed me as needing glasses when I couldn't read the blackboard - I don't remember what classroom subject he taught.



I then go on to name names, well as many as I could remember. Won't repeat them here but I am top row, 3rd from left.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.